CrazySexyCrafty: Mounting with Felt Foam

I wanted to mount my power strip above my work table for easy access. I didn’t want it on the floor anymore because I wanted to store things under the table, and I didn’t want to move everything from under there just to plug something in.  That meant that I would have to mount it on screws. Not too bad.

Except,  how was I going to mark the screw placement accurately?

This is the hardest part for me, because I want to guesstimate, but that doesn’t make for great installation, but does make some great headaches. So I went through a few ideas I had and finally found something that works too well!

Craft Foam! The kind with the adhesive on the back!

I punched holes with leather punches and stuck them where the screws were suppose to go. Then I dabbed some ink from a bingo marker (you can get them at the dollar store), and placed the power strip where I wanted it.

Voila! Perfectly placed marks!

You could also use those felt pads and cut them to the size needed.

If you don’t want to use ink on your white walls (totally understand!), then you can use toothpaste instead.  Just wipe away when done!

I use these now to mark where I want to hang just about anything.

Leave a Reply

