CheapSexyEats: Chocolate Dipped Bananas

I love frozen bananas dipped in chocolate. You can put chocolate on (almost) anything and it will be loved, or least tried. I have to admit though…anytime I see this:

I think it’s just too phallic.

That probably says more about me than I should really reveal, but that’s how I feel about it.  I like sexy, not slutty. I like covert, not overt. Serving bananas like that is just too obvious! For me! So I’m going to take overt down a notch.

You need:
bananas
semi-sweet chocolate if you have it
if not…
cocoa powder
solid oil like coconut, palm shortening or even cocoa butter (food grade) if you have it
honey or agave nectar
toppings of choice like:
nuts or seeds
crushed cookies
coconut
leftover chocolate chips
crushed cereal

“Lean to the left, lean to the right, peel your banana and….cut into pieces!” You know you remember that cheer!

 

 

Place your sticks in now if you’re using them and place pieces on a parchment or foil- lined plate or cookie sheet and freeze for at least 30 minutes.

 

 

Melt your chocolate in a double boiler. Just put a bowl over a small saucepan filled with water. Let the water come to a low boil.

If you are using cocoa, melt two tablespoons of your hard oil (I had coconut) in the microwave in a bowl. Add two tablespoons of cocoa powder and one tablespoon of honey or agave nectar. Stir until smooth.

Coat bananas in chocolate once. Let cool. Coat again, then immediately roll in topping of your choice. Put pieces back in the freezer. Put the frozen treats in an airtight container if they are not going to be devoured in one sitting.

Leave a Reply

