CheapSexyEats: Broccoli Potato Soup


I was inspired by Dana’s original recipe on her site MADE. I couldn’t have seen it at a better time. I had just gotten 4 pounds of broccoli on sale, and a BOGO bag of potatoes. I knew I would eventually tire of broccoli stir-fry and homemade potato chips, and this idea definitely fit the bill for variety.

It’s also super easy and quick! My version is vegan, and uses the ingredients I have on hand (like white beans instead of corn). I don’t buy commercial soup stocks, (there are too many chemicals and additives despite being overpriced!) so I have my own method of adding flavor to soups, without adding meat. If you run out or don’t happen to have any stock, you can use this method and still have a soup that’s flavorful.

1 medium onion, chopped
2 medium garlic cloves, minced
1 pound potatoes (2 large or 3-4 medium)
1 pound broccoli (about 2 broccoli crowns)
1/3 cup flour
4 cups water
2 cups beans (I used white beans that I froze)
salt and pepper to taste

In your soup pot, saute your onions in your favorite oil or butter or both! Add your potatoes. Let them brown and start to stick to the bottom just a bit. Add your broccoli. Sprinkle your flour over the vegetables and toss to make sure the veggies are coated with the flour. Add your water, making sure to run your spoon over the bottom of the pot to release all of the crispy bits (flavor!). Bring to a boil and cook until potatoes are tender. Should take about 10-15 mins. Add your beans and let them warm through. Season to taste.

Leave a Reply

