CrazySexyCrafty: Dyeing Shoes with Paint It Black


Simply Spray was kind enough to let me try another one of their products: Paint It Black. It’s a safe fabric dye in a spray can you can use to put back the black in your favorite clothing. This is obviously what it was made to do. I wanted to push the boundaries a little bit and see how far the product could go, and I had the perfect thing:

These shoes.

I bought these so many years ago at Target. I love them because of the Asian print (I have a love affair with all things Asian. I’ll explain sometime later) and the patent leather (or vinyl!) bow. Apparently, I love them too much, because they are DIR-TY! Luckily, there are no tears or holes and the sole is still in good condition. So this is great to try to paint black!


I wanted to keep the cute color pop of red, so I taped that part up with masking tape, making sure the area was covered well. I covered my work surface (I do alot on this surface!) and put up my paint guards, and got to painting.

When using this, it’s really important to spray lights coats, and let each coat dry before spraying on another one. Try not to saturate the item. The dye will just run off the fabric and make a really messy pool under your item. You’ll be wasting product. I probably could have used just one can to do these shoes, but I ended up using one and a half cans because I had to learn the hard way about light coats.

There was a little paint on the red. It comes off easily if you use rubbing alcohol and some cotton.

See?

Now, I have a practically new pair of cute flats! And if I need to, I can just spray on a little dye if I need to touch them up.

Leave a Reply

