I talked them down in a retail store!


The other day, I was at the art supply store looking for droppers. I normally don’t buy those kind of things, as I am an avid recycler and always save different kinds of glass bottles and jars, including ones that have droppers in them. I never know when those kinds of things can be used for something else. And I always find another way to use my recycled items.

I needed a few more droppers than what I had in my stash for a craft project I was doing. I found some, and noticed how stiff the price was for something that is essentially plastic. Then I saw that one of the packages was torn, and some of the contents missing. Since I really wanted the droppers, I deciding to try my luck and see if they would sell it to me for a discount.

I asked the cashier if she would willingly sell the package to me, and she said she would give me a 10% discount. What I did next surprised even me! I told her that 10% wasn’t worth it! I would be willing to buy it at $4 (the retail price was $6/five droppers). The cashier found that 30% off made the price $4.19 plus tax. I agreed, and bought the droppers.

I cannot tell you what kind of rush I got from standing firm in my decision to get the best value for something I wanted. To be honest, I think I could have probably gotten an even better price! Since this was the first time I’ve ever done anything like that, I’ll chalk it up to a learning experience. I learned a few other things too:

*Stop overlooking imperfect items-Next time, I’ll be more aware of opened packages, dented cans, one or two broken eggs, and missing items. Stores want to move that kind of stuff too.

*Be willing to walk-If she had said that was the best price she could give me, I would have put the item back with no problem. Sometimes you have to pick another time or day.

*Be firm about what you think the item is worth-I couldn’t believe that all she could do at first was 10% off. I might as well have bought the item at full price in that case! I didn’t say anything about it being poor quality or overpriced, but stating how much I was willing to pay was a much better strategy.

*Be nice, but direct-No need to yell, cuss, scream or insult. Much better to be matter-of fact, and non personal.

Leave a Reply

