CrazySexyCrafty: Faux Lace T-shirt

T-shirts are the ultimate staple for the frugal fashionista. You can do just about anything with them. They can be dressed up or down, can be plain or fancy and can be downright cheap to buy.  If you’re lucky to have family members or friends that have ones they don’t wear, you can often get them for free!

I look at plain white t-shirts like a blank canvas. So, I buy multiple packs of plain white T-shirts in different styles and sizes. I always make sure that whatever package they come in, each shirt is never over $2 each.

I’ve been wanting to do some cool spray paint effects, but without using actual spray paint. Since it’s toxic, you can’t use it inside and actually you can’t use it on clothing.

There have been a few companies out there making nontoxic spray paint products for use on fabric. One of them is Deval Products, who make Simply Spray. They were kind enough to let me try the product out on several projects that I have in mind. This one is just one of many that I have up my sleeve! Since lace is going to all the rage this fall, I wanted to give a shirt a lacy effect with paint.

How to make a faux lace t-shirt


Protect your work space. For me that means making sure the wall behind is protected  as well as the carpet. I’ve learned from past experiments.

Wash and dry the t-shirt you want to use. No fabric softener or dryer sheets. White or light color shirts are best for this project. Place a piece of cardboard between the two layers to keep paint from bleeding through to the back.

Spray your base color. Make it a light color. I used Poppy Red and Brite Yellow, but next time I’ll use a color lighter than red. Cover the whole shirt with a light spray. Let dry at least 30 minutes for less bleeding. If you don’t mind a little color bleed, continue to next step.

Place a piece of lace over your shirt. Try to find one bigger that your t-shirt.  I found this piece at the thrift store.  Spray a dark color lightly over the lace. I used Deep Purple. You don’t need to saturate the lace. It will just puddle and become wasted paint. Let the shirt dry without moving lace for at least 30 minutes for crisp effects. I, however, wanted a little messiness so it wouldn’t be too girly. I turned my lace piece over and used a roller to press the excess paint into the shirt.

After the front dried, I repeated the steps for the back of the shirt.

I really like the end result. Simply Spray is very easy to use, and washes off the skin easily, so I didn’t have to worry about wearing gloves. The colors also stay true, even when the garment is dry. When the can says Brite Yellow, that’s exactly what you get.

Finished and drying

On to the next project!

5 Comments on “CrazySexyCrafty: Faux Lace T-shirt”

  1. Dotty says:

    Love the lacey effect! Thanks so much for participating in the exchange program!

  2. Angela says:

    Love this technique with the lace! This looks phenominal, thanks for posting it. I will post a link on our FB Fan Page.

  3. Lynda says:

    Oh, I LOVE the lace! I need to do that! Thanks for the idea.

  4. Pleasant post, i for certain enjoy your website, keep on it.


Leave a Reply

