Is extreme frugality for you?

I’ve been hearing stories lately about people going hardcore with the pairing down. Take this couple for instance. Then, there was this article about five extreme ways to slash costs. I get this feeling that it’s a sort of contest. “I can be more frugal than you!”  “Oh yeah, well, I don’t have a car!” “Oh, you think that’s something, well I LIVE in my car”…..

I know I can sometimes do crazy things to save money, but I have limits! Dumpster diving for food is just nasty (but I’m not above doing it for certain items, like furniture). If you need food, grow a garden! There a plenty of people who do it renegade. Not washing as often can work, but only if you are a hermit. If you are in constant contact with the general population, regular baths, hair washing, teeth brushing and clothes cleaning will serve you well.

Sometimes, I think all this “extremeness” is missing the point. What are you slashing costs for? You should have a goal or a dream in mind. That’s what you save your money for, not to one up your neighbor on how cheap you are. That’s just another weird version of keeping up with the Joneses.

Leave a Reply

