Putting up food without a garden

Freezing cheap finds is the next best thing!

I’m sad to say that I’m not able to do a garden at this time. It’s something I really wanted to do, but I’m not getting much support on this. It’s strange because a garden has been maintained here before for several years and it was quite enjoyable, at least for me.

I tried to do some container gardening on the deck, but it been so hot that the poor plants didn’t stand a chance! It was pretty pathetic.  Perhaps, it’s a good thing that I won’t be able to do gardening. With the heat, it would have been alot of work just to keep the plants alive. I’m thinking of trying again after the weather gets cooler. I’m in a warm zone, so the growing season is a little longer.

What I have been doing is buying an abundance of fruits and veggies when they go on sale. I don’t mean any sale, I’m mean rock bottom sale. Like peaches for .69 cents/pound, broccoli for .99 cents/pound and cherries for $1.99/pound. When I see these prices in the sale papers, I make sure to get a few pounds of what’s cheap. Then I take it home and IQF everything.

It’s making our freezer pretty full. If I keep this up, I will have to buy a separate freezer just for food storage.

Leave a Reply

