Try frozen beans!

You probably wont find these in your local grocery store. That’s probably a good thing cause they would be way overpriced anyway. I quit the canned bean habit since dried beans are a much better deal. But some people will still buy them because they are “convenient”.  I say try the “IQF” (individually quick frozen) method.

Soak 2 lbs of beans for 24 hours. This will cause them to sprout. Pour off soaking water, rinse beans well, add water to cover plus 2 inches, and boil for 20 mins. Strain the beans, spread them on a single layer on a parchment-lined cookie sheet and let them cool completely. Once cooled, stick the whole cookie sheet in the freezer for about an hour. Remove the cookie sheet and separate the beans. You can then transfer them to a ziploc freezer storage bag.

I like this method so much because I can vary the amount of beans I want. No more hard blocks of two cup portions that I had to wait to thaw to get the amount that I wanted. Now I can just pour out the portion I need and stick the bag back in the freezer.

No need for the cans!

2 Comments on “Try frozen beans!”

  1. strivingbean says:

    Wow, I’m glad I found your blog! Great post about freezing beans, not many know about it. Isn’t that interesting? I also posted about freezing beans, feel free to take a peek:

    http://strivingbean.com/2010/01/13/how-to-freeze-beans/

    And I LOVE the cherry pitter idea. I threw a cherry pitter in my cart the other night ($13), walked around a bit, then put it back. Couldn’t bring myself to pay that much. Definitely going to try this.

    And I’m reading Jeff Yeager’s latest “The Cheapskate Next Door.” I think we are on the same wave length! 🙂

    • Joi says:

      Wow Micaela,
      We are on the same wavelength! We have the exact same method for freezing beans. Yay! I did something right!
      I love your blog. I think it’s high time we start giving beans more of a starring role in our food. Your blog does that really well. I’ll be adding it to the blogroll.

      Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

