Jeff Yeager makes alot of sense!

Of course he does! He’s the ultimate cheapskate!

Even more than that, he’s an author, blog writer, and also had a segment on the Today Show. He takes frugality waaaay farther than I do, but he’s been doing it a lot longer than me, so he probably has more tricks.

There are certain concepts that you get from different tightwads. From Amy Dacyczyn, I learned that the little things add up. Yes, there certainly do. From Charles Long, I learned that cheapness knows no bounds for some, but really that you have to do the cost analysis of everything you buy, including used things. You can read more about it in he’s book, How to Live Without a Salary.

The thing I learned from Jeff, even though the other authors said it too, is that the amount of money you make does NOT determine your quality of life! He shared some great examples of this in his first book, and now, I finally understand this concept! Spending more money doesn’t make your quality of life better, especially if you are spending it on crappy stuff. We always think that if we made more money, our “problems” would magically disappear, not realizing the other problems that come with having more money. There are a lot of people out there that make and spend a lot of money, but they are really unhappy! Either they are earning money doing something they don’t want to do, or they are dealing with the problems associated with having a lot of money. When I quit my job, several of my coworkers congratulated me! Many of them wanted to quit also, but couldn’t due to circumstances that would not change if they quit. I’m glad I learned early on that debt was paralyzing and that I needed to get out of it quickly if I wanted to live my life on my own terms.

I think it’s fine to earn a lot of money. I don’t think it’s good to believe that it will solve all of your problems in life. Money doesn’t give you a free pass to happiness. Money will take care of some things, but as far as love, trust, friendship, loyalty, creativity, and good communication, you have to work on those on your own. Good thing it doesn’t cost anything to do so.

Leave a Reply

