Get Rid of Cat Urine Odors Frugally and Naturally!


After finding out that my cat had been peeing on the carpet for weeks, having her checked, nursing her back to health, cleaning out the litter boxes thoroughly, changing the litter, removing the stains, and retraining her to use the litter boxes again, I had only one problem left: the horrible cat pee smell!

I had smelled that smell before but didn’t know what it was at first! I said to my dad, “What is that smell!” he said, “I don’t smell anything.” “It smells like something stale!” I said.  I wouldn’t find out what was going on for another two weeks!

I know that there are lots of great enzymatic products out there that really work to get rid of cat urine smells, but they can be  expensive. Luckily, I found a natural, less costly process that uses a few items you probably already have at home.

There is lots of debate about whether this method works or not. I think the older the stains are, the more work you may have to do. If the urine is fresh, you won’t have to work so hard and you may only have to do this method once. I had to do this about 5 times to finally get rid of the smell. Since the items used are very cheap, I was okay with this.

It’s also said that this method may ruin your carpet. We have white carpet here, so that wasn’t an issue. If you have colored carpet, you need to test in an area that won’t be seen. If you have color changes, you may need another method.

Olivia from the Hot and Handy Show shows you what to do to get rid of the cat urine smell with just five items:

*NOTE*-I find it works better to actually let the vinegar/water mix dry completely instead of blotting it up with a cloth.

Eric at getridofthings.com uses the same method for carpets, but he also shows you how to get rid of the smell from clothes, floors, and walls.

I’m so thankful I don’t have to throw out the carpet, my clothes or the cat!

3 Comments on “Get Rid of Cat Urine Odors Frugally and Naturally!”

  1. yannou974 says:

    Very exiting article. I’m gonna try this at home. Thank you

  2. Thanks for all of this useful info. I’m having the same problem with my cat right now. Two questions: how did you give your cat the cranberry juice? With a syringe? Also, how did you retrain her to use her litter box?

    • Joi says:

      Hi Stephanie. I mixed the juice in with wet food. This worked temporarily. I did end up getting surgery for my cat because a stone just wouldn’t pass. From working with a wonderful vet, I learned a few more things.
      If there is no evidence of crystals in urinalysis, then they are most likely the type of stones that won’t dissolve through food, hence cranberry juice. After the stone was removed, I didn’t have to train her again. She knew what to do. I hope that you find a great vet to work with so that you and your cat will find some healing.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.